We've updated our Terms of Use. You can review the changes here.

A Secret Spell EP

by A. Spencer

supported by
Eric Clayton
Eric Clayton thumbnail
Eric Clayton Instantly fell for this EP within 30 seconds of the first song - warm, interesting, and refreshing Favorite track: A Secret Spell.
Donovan Murphy
Donovan Murphy thumbnail
Donovan Murphy A too-brief upwelling of the soul. Favorite track: A Secret Spell.
justin spicer
justin spicer thumbnail
justin spicer Everything Mr. Goldman does, he does it for you. Favorite track: Good Night and Good Luck.
  • Streaming + Download

    Includes unlimited streaming via the free Bandcamp app, plus high-quality download in MP3, FLAC and more.
    Purchasable with gift card

      $3 USD  or more


It's an incantation A secret spell A spirit conjured up in song The words in combination From the bottomless well A stubborn line drawn between right and wrong Well come as you are As you wanted to be All are welcome in song If you’ve been traveling alone Then you’re traveling with me And that road can be so lonely and so long It’s a song with no beginning It’s a song with no end It’s a song that just goes on (and on and on and on) Sing one for Nina Sing one for Tom Sing one for Neil And one for John One for my darling Nicki My dog Leonard too By my side after everyone has gone It’s a song with no beginning It’s a song with no end It’s a song that just goes on (and on and on and on) In congregation Voices as one All are welcome in song
You can lie to me But be true If the lie is the truth That’ll do I will follow you But if the lie is false Then we’re through One for the money Two for the show Triple it triple it triple it Three to never let go


released February 14, 2017

Produced by A. Spencer Goldman
#1 and 3 co-produced with Adam Ollendorff

Mixed November 5, 2016 at The Bastille Recording Studio in Arlington VA, by Eamonn Aiken and A. Spencer Goldman

Mastered by TJ Lipple

All songs © A. Spencer Goldman 2017 (BMI)

#1 and #3 recorded primarily July 29, 2016 at Cartoon Moon, Nashville TN by Patrick Miller. Additional recording by Eamonn Aiken at The Bastille Recording Studio in Arlington VA, and by ASG at home in Baltimore MD

#2 was recorded between March 2014 and June 2016 by: J. Robbins and Branden Funkhouser at Magpie Cage in Baltimore, MD; Steve Silverstein at SteveCo Worldwide / The Carousel in Brooklyn, NY; Peter Hess at his studio in Brooklyn, NY; Conor Q Walker in Austin TX; and by ASG at home

Adam Beard – upright and electric bass (1, 3)
Ken Coomer – drums and percussion (1, 3)
ASG – Acoustic and electric guitars, piano (3), wurlitzer, vocals
Thor Harris – dulcimer (2)
TJ Lipple – drums (2)
Adam Ollendorff – pedal steel (1, 3), baritone guitar (3), piano (1)
George Rush - upright bass (2)

Cover art by George Boorujy (“Initiate”)
Layout by Austin Stahl

Thanks to everyone who contributed their gifts to this along the way, and special thanks to Adam for the mighty fine Nashville hospitality


all rights reserved



A. Spencer Baltimore, Maryland

See also: Fulton Lights


contact / help

Contact A. Spencer

Streaming and
Download help

Redeem code

Report this album or account

If you like A. Spencer, you may also like: